Brisingr (Inheritance Cycle #3) by Christopher Paolini

Finally finished!

After 748 pages, I am finally about to finish the series! It has been a long, fun journey so far through the world of dragons and Riders.  Brisingr by Christopher Paolini is the third installment in the Inheritance Cycle after Eragon  and Eldest.  It has taken me seven years to pick this book off of my shelf, but it finally has been read from cover to cover.

Brisingr by Christopher Paolini
Brisingr by Christopher Paolini

For those of you that do not know about the series, in Eragon , we meet a young boy who has found a bright blue stone in a forbidden part of the land.  He brings the stone home with him to try and trade it for food for his family.  After the trader tells of its priceless worth, he brings it back home while he tries to figure out what to do with it.  While he is in his room, he hears a crack.  The crack turns into a squeak which leads Eragon to realize… its an egg! Not only an egg, but a dragon egg.  His life has changed forever.  While he keeps this literally ever-growing secret, something tragic happens which leads him to have to go on the run from the Empire. We continue to follow his journey through the hardships and the challenges that he has to overcome that he never thought possible.

In Eldest, the journey continues after one of the first major battles between the Empire and the Varden.  We follow through three viewpoints of Eragon, his cousin Roran, and the new leader Nasuada.  Eragon sets on the journey to begin his training with the elves by traveling north to Ellesmera.  An overwhelming secret flies upon them, and Eragon and Saphira become stronger than ever before.  But, when the war begins to become heavier, they have to fly back to the action to help defeat Galbatorix’s army.  This book follows along Roran as he makes the greatest sacrifice for him and his townspeople.  What will happen to them? Nasuada sees the need to show her strength in her new position, and establish the power of her father before her.  By the end of this book, we find out what happens between the three soldiers of the Varden as they come together in another battle.

In Brisingr, we follow Eragon and Roran as they try to figure out what to do next.  Roran finally gets what he wants the most with the help of his brother.  There are many battles in this book as well.  Towards the beginning, they all go to the Ra’zac’s hiding place and many events take place that you will not want to miss. Sloan comes back into the picture and Eragon has to figure out how to punish him.  In response to the deaths of those in importance, changes in leadership are discussed throughout this installment.  Eragon is sent to help in the decisions, but dangerous assassins happen.  Through assassins, magic, fighting, and training, the world as they know it is in the hands of Eragon and Saphira.  What will happen?

The beginning of Brisingr is fast and exciting, but it begins to slow down soon after which kind of is a downer with such a long book.  Big surprises happen here and there that keep you alert.  A really big one happens towards the end that shows the true lineage of Eragon’s family tree. The author answers many of the antsy questions that the reader wants to know while at the same time even more questions are being posed .  I think that the final book of the Inheritance Cycle will have no problem in accomplishing our questions. That is one thing that I really like about the series.  Paolini shows us how circumstances connect, but at the same time, he gives us more to ponder over for the up-coming situations.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.  While it seemed long in a few places, there were many more captivating scenerios that make you sit and read for hours on end. I rather enjoyed the book .  There was a lot of character development in many of the characters  that are not just the main ones.  As with the first two books, it does not seem like Paolini is just writing to get a book done, but rather writes to show detail.  There are not repetitive aspects other than it seems like there is a battle at the end of each book.  Who doesn’t like that?  Overall, it was not as good as the first, but it was better than the second.  It will be very interesting to figure out how the Cycle ends in Inheritance.

More Book Information:

Published: 20 September 2008

Publisher: Knopf

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 763

How I Read It:  First Edition Hardcover

Stay tuned for more book reviews coming soon! If you would like to receive a free email subscription to my blog you can click the appropriate link in the sidebar (if on desktop) or below (if on a mobile device).  You will then be notified of all posts on this blog! If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions feel free to leave one below

For more information on this book, click here:

Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoy!  This is a very good series!


One thought on “Brisingr (Inheritance Cycle #3) by Christopher Paolini

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s