Welcome to the Dark House (Dark House #1) by Laurie Faria Stolarz

img_3544

Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz is a YA Horror / Thriller story of overcoming the worst nightmares and fighting to stay alive.


img_0562


welcome to the dark houseWhat’s your worst nightmare?

For Ivy Jensen, it’s the eyes of a killer that haunt her nights. For Parker Bradley, it’s bloodthirsty sea serpents that slither in his dreams.

And for seven essay contestants, it’s their worst nightmares that win them an exclusive, behind-the-scenes look at director Justin Blake’s latest, confidential project. Ivy doesn’t even like scary movies, but she’s ready to face her real-world fears. Parker’s sympathetic words and perfect smile help keep her spirits up. . . at least for now.

Not everyone is so charming, though. Horror-film fanatic Garth Vader wants to stir up trouble. It’s bad enough he has to stay in the middle of nowhere with this group—the girl who locks herself in her room; the know-it-all roommate; “Mister Sensitive”; and the one who’s too cheery for her own good. Someone has to make things interesting.

Except, things are already a little weird. The hostess is a serial-killer look-alike, the dream-stealing Nightmare Elf is lurking about, and the seventh member of the group is missing.

By the time Ivy and Parker realize what’s really at stake, it’s too late to wake up and run.


img_0564

Finally! A truly scary novel to start off the Halloween festivities!

I was so captivated by this story (to the point where I read it in one day), and I can say that I am soo excited to see where the sequel will take Ivy.

This is a story of nightmares and whether the characters have the power to overcome them even if it means putting their life on the line. And the worst part of it is, they have no idea it’s at that level. Throughout the book, I found myself volleying between whether this was the real deal or a twisted ploy.

Everything from the beginning chapter until the final few, we are questioning along with a few of the smarter characters (and yes, there is the classic, don’t go into that house moment) on what is really going on with this lucky trip of horror. There are minimal parts that you can kind of guess what may happen, but that ending was something I was not expecting.

I think going into this book with little to no knowledge of what it’s about is a strong recommendation. Because you are in for a treat. Not only are the circumstances leaving you with the lights on, but you are following some pretty strange and freaky characters. I mean, two in particular made me have to re-read to make sure that I read those lines right.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 stars with a Scare Factor at a 4/5 (Reference: ‘It’ was a 5/5). The title, Welcome to the Dark House, fits the circumstances perfectly. It’s creepy, a little bit gory, and is perfect for fans of Stephen King’s ‘It.’ No joke, think of a YA version of that creep-fest and you have this book laid out.

Your heart will be racing all the way to the end, and the ending leaves you with a ton of questions for the sequel!


img_0560

Published: 22 July 2014

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Genre: Young Adult Horror / Thriller

Pages: 357

How I Read It: Paperback


Stay tuned for more book reviews every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of reading YA!

img_2701

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_2311

One thought on “Welcome to the Dark House (Dark House #1) by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s