Recent Reads: 21-27 October 2018

img_0165

This past week has been a blast for books!

Not only did I get to participate in the Kingdom of Ash World Tour, but I was also able to read some really good books!

Over the last week, I was able to finish 3 total adventures and start 3 others! Currently, I am in the middle of FOUR books, so I have a big goal for this upcoming week (see below for more details).

Here is what I was able to read:

img_2908


img_0571-1

Monday (22nd October)

Tower of Dawn (Throne of Glass #6) by Sarah J. Maas *currently reading*

img_0562


todIn the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire.

Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.

His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent’s mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.

But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined


img_0560

Published: 5 September 2017

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy / Romance

Pages: 672


Tuesday (23rd September)

Watch You Burn by Amanda Searcy

img_0562


watch you burnJenny didn’t want to move to the creepy, possibly haunted town with her dad. But the cops are on to her, and the only way she can protect herself is by moving as far away from her hometown as possible and staying out of trouble.

But even after she moves, Jenny still gets the itch. The itch to light a match and then watch it burn.

It’s something she hasn’t been able to stop, ever since an accident years ago. Now, in a new town, Jenny has the strange feeling that someone is watching her every move. Will her arsonist ways be exposed? Or is the burning truth deep inside her a greater danger?


img_0560

Published: 23 October 2018

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult Mystery / Thriller

Pages: 352

Click HERE for my book review!


*Disclaimer: I requested a free copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All of my posts contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced in any way*


Wednesday (24th October)

Death by the River by Alexadrea Weis & Lucas Astor

img_0562


DeathbytheRiver_6x9_20180402_HiResSome truths are better kept secret.
Some secrets are better off dead.

Along the banks of the Bogue Falaya River, sits the abandoned St. Francis Seminary. Beneath a canopy of oaks, blocked from prying eyes, the teens of St. Benedict High gather here on Fridays. The rest of the week belongs to school and family—but weekends belong to the river.

And the river belongs to Beau Devereaux.

The only child of a powerful family, Beau can do no wrong. Handsome. Charming. Intelligent. The star quarterback of the football team. The “prince” of St. Benedict is the ultimate catch.

He is also a psychopath.

A dirty family secret buried for years, Beau’s evil grows unchecked. In the shadows of the ruined St. Francis Abbey, he commits unspeakable acts on his victims and ensures their silence with threats and intimidation. Senior year, Beau sets his sights on his girlfriend’s headstrong twin sister, Leslie, who hates him. Everything he wants but cannot have, she will be his ultimate prize.

As the victim toll mounts, it becomes crystal clear that someone has to stop Beau Devereaux.

And that someone will pay with their life.

WARNING: Readers of Death by the River will encounter situations of violence and sexual abuse which could be upsetting.

Abandon hope all ye who enter here …


img_0560

Published: 2 October 2018

Publisher: Vesuvian Books

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Pages: 357


DeathbytheRiverRevealBanner

Click HERE for my book review!


*Disclaimer: I requested a free copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. All of my posts contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced in any way*


The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

img_0562


dead houseTwenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High burned down. Three people were killed and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. Now a diary has been found in the ruins of the school. The diary belongs to Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly’s identical twin sister. But Carly didn’t have a twin . . .

Re-opened police records, psychiatric reports, transcripts of video footage and fragments of diary reveal a web of deceit and intrigue, violence and murder, raising a whole lot more questions than it answers.

Who was Kaitlyn and why did she only appear at night? Did she really exist or was she a figment of a disturbed mind? What were the illicit rituals taking place at the school? And just what did happen at Elmbridge in the events leading up to ‘the Johnson Incident’?”


img_0560

Published: 6 August 2015

Publisher: Orion Children’s Books

Genre: Young Adult Horror

Pages: 440

Click HERE for my review!


Friday (26th October)

Slasher Girls and Monster Boysedited by April Genevieve Tucholke *currently reading*

img_0562


slasher girlsFor fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters


img_0560

Published: 18 August 2015

Publisher: Dial Books

Genre: Young Adult Horror / Retellings

Pages: 400


Saturday (27th October)

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children #1) by Ransom Riggs *Audiobook / Re-read / Currently Reading*

img_0562


miss peregrinesA mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow-impossible though it seems-they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.


img_0560

Published: 7 June 2011

Publisher: Quirk Books

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 352


Favorite Book of the Week: The Dead House

# of Pages Read: 1,357

Total # of Books Read: 3 finished & 3 started


Some posts you may have missed this week:


For this next week, my biggest goal is to narrow my current stack of reads to only ONE book (instead of FOUR).

Tuesday will also be a huge milestone in my life as I venture into adulthood and move across states to my own apartment! I am super excited yet nervous for this experience and opportunities it will throw my way. I start my new graduate nursing job early in November, so getting situated this week will be a top priority.

And hopefully, I will be able to squeeze a decent stack of books into the mix because I have EIGHT scheduled to read!!

What have I done to my goals?? But I hope to be able to spend all day tomorrow finishing a few, so wish me luck!

You can also expect tons of bookish posts including TWO BLOG TOUR REVIEWS this week!

FIRST FULL MOONCarolsandChaosTourBanner


What books did you read this week?? Did you find a captivating and terrifying story that you want to share? Let me know in the comments!

Want to know what I thought of each book?? Subscribe below to be notified when the reviews have been released!

img_2701

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_2311

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s