Blog Tour: Lucid (Lucid #1) by Kristy Fairlamb

img_3544

Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb is a YA Paranormal story of nightmares, death, and a curse.

LucidTour

img_0562


Lucid by Kristy FairlambA terrifying power. A horrifying curse.

Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.

When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler’s presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge, she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.

Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.


img_0564

The idea behind this book caught me immediately. A curse to see the dark moments people face? How much more interesting is that? 

One of my favorite parts of this book was the darkness in the writing. An Australian girl tries to live with the ability to see people’s most tragic memories leading her to isolate herself. Then, everything is interrupted when a boy from one of her dreams walks in front of her.

The main character is a tough one and experiences things that push her to the breaking point. But it’s not a totally dark story as heartwarming romance is slowly spun in.

There were a few moments that seemed to drag a little, but other than that, I was hooked. This is a solid 4 out of 5 stars from me.

I loved the chemistry between the characters, and their heavy emotions accented the plot wonderfully. This is a solid start to a series, and I highly recommend this one for readers who love dark, unique stories.


img_0560

Published: 23 April 2019

Publisher: Lakewater Press

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Pages: 272

How I Read It: eARC from Chapter by Chapter


img_0569

Kristy Author Photo“Kristy Fairlamb is an Australian author of the Young Adult Lucid series coming out in 2019.

She spends her days drinking coffee and torturing her characters with loads of tension – both love related and the nail biting kind.

Long before her days of writing began she spent half her childhood in a make believe world; daydreaming about growing up, falling in love, and travelling the world.

She’s worked as a nanny in country England, a junior matron in a boy’s boarding school south of London, a governess in East Timor, and made coffees and cleared tables in the New South Wales snow fields.

She lives with her husband, teenage daughter, and two sons in the beautiful Adelaide Hills where they’re lucky enough to get occasional visits from the local koalas. 

She’s terrible at gardening, likes her bookshelves sorted by colour, and recently checked off a lifelong dream of jumping from a plane. 

When she’s not writing or daydreaming about her stories you’ll find her reading, cooking for her family, or doing anything to avoid the housework.

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Instagram • Goodreads |


*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Chapter by Chapter in exchange for an honest review. All of my book reviews contain my honest opinion only and are not influenced in any way.*


LucidTour

Check out other Bloggers’ thoughts through the Official Blog Tour Schedule!


Interested in reading this book for yourself??

Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb

Click HERE to jump on over to Goodreads AND click to purchase from your favorite online booksellers

BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon | TBD |


linkback

This Blog Tour is organized by: Chapter by Chapter!


Stay tuned for more book reviews every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!

img_4208

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_4211

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s