Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan

img_3544

Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan is a YA Fantasy Retelling of The Lady, or the Tiger.

img_0562


42281646._SY475_From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.


img_0560

Published: 10 September 2019

Publisher: Blink

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy / Retelling

Pages: 320

How I Read It: eARC from NetGalley

*Disclaimer: I requested a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All of my reviews contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced in any way.*


img_0564

Since I haven’t read the original story behind this book, I can’t comment on how this retelling compares.

But what I can say is that this was a fast-paced, action-packed YA Fantasy that caught my attention right away.

If you love stories with tons and tons of fighting and proving oneself to an entire kingdom, this should be on the top of your TBR. It has a strong heroine that you can’t help but cheer on as she strikes through each opponent, growing stronger by the minute.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.


Interested in reading this book for yourself??

42281646._SY475_

Click HERE to jump on over to Goodreads.


Stay tuned for more book reviews every week! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!

img_4208

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading!

img_4211

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s