The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand

img_6870

The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand is a YA Contemporary surrounding adoption, life, and family!

img_6848


43884147._SY475_.jpg“A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.



img_6852

This was a very fun, relatable read!

We follow a girl who is about to graduate high school and is in that transitional time of her life. She wants to learn everything she can about her birth mom, and as clues begin to surface, she dives into the opportunities to find her.

It’s a story surrounding family, whether biological or not, while also showing the typical, teenage life of boys, high school, and friends.

The writing style is very easy-going and super quick to read. Immediately, I was hooked on the story, and could not put it down.

I gave this one 5 out of 5 stars and really recommend it to YA or just contemporary readers in general. It’s one of those reads that just leaves you captivated.

There were shocking moments, and even though I had an idea of what might happen, the book still surprised me!


img_6850

Published: 5 November 2019

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: YA Contemporary

Pages: 464

How I Read It: Hardcover from Publisher

*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. All of my reviews contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced I any way.*


Interested in reading this book for yourself??

43884147._SY475_

Click HERE to jump on over to Goodreads.


Stay tuned for more book reviews almost daily! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!

img_4208

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading!

img_6873

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s