The Iskari Trilogy by Kristen Ciccarelli


The Iskari Trilogy by Kristen Ciccarelli is a YA Fantasy series including three companion novels: The Last Namsara, The Caged Queen, and The Sky Weaver!


Book 1: The Last Namsara

32667458.jpg“In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be darkness—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death-bringer.

These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up learning in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.

Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm. When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

Book 2: The Caged Queen

35843937.jpgKristen Ciccarelli’s distinct brand of lyrical, haunting fantasy continues in the companion to her bestselling debut, The Last Namsara. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Renee Ahdieh.

Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. Roa and Essie called it the hum. It was a magic they cherished—until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world.

Dax—the heir to Firgaard’s throne—was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered.

Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen. Only as queen could she save her people from Firgaard’s rule.

Then a chance arises to right every wrong—an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa discovers she can reclaim her sister for good.

All she has to do is kill the king.

Book 3: The Sky Weaver

35843942._SX318_“At the end of one world, there always lies another.

Safire, a soldier, knows her role in this world is to serve the King of Firgaard—helping to maintain the peace in her oft-troubled nation.

Eris, a deadly pirate, has no such conviction. Known as the Death Dancer for her ability to evade even the most determined of pursuers, she possesses a superhuman power to move between worlds.

When one can roam from dimension to dimension, can one ever be home? Can love and loyalty truly exist?

Now Safire and Eris—sworn enemies—find themselves on a common mission: to find Asha, the last Namsara. From the port city of Darmoor to the fabled faraway Star Isles, their search and their stories become woven ever more tightly together as they discover the uncertain fate they’re hurtling towards may just be a shared one. In this world—and the next.



Going into the first book, I was hooked! 

I can’t tell you just how much this one brought back my love for YA Fantasies and the feel I get reading them.

We follow the main character who is a dragon hunter who’s past has driven her to find and kill the dragon who left her scarred.

When her father, the king, wants her to bring his head, she can’t help but get excited for the final quest. But then she discovers the tales may not be as true as they were told to her, and her mission turns into a quest to uncover the truth.

It’s a story of deception, secrets, and a bit of romance. And don’t forget my favorite mythical creatures: DRAGONS!

What I didn’t realize with this series is that it’s actually a set of companion novels, so it was a little disappointing when I learned that we weren’t following the main character from Book 1, who was my absolute favorite.

Which did mean that my excitement began to taper off as the series went on since they didn’t feel as empowering as the first. But that’s not to say that they weren’t amazing YA Fantasies, because they were.

I give the series as a whole a 4 out of 5 stars, and the breakdown is this: Books 1 = 5/5, 2 = 3/5, 3 = 3/5.

Each consecutive story follows a strong female lead the continue the fight for survival. It’s a world that will engross you while bringing you the right amount of thrilling fantasy.

I definitely recommend this series! 


Published: 3 October 2017 | 25 September 2018 | 12 November 2019

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: YA Fantasy

Pages: 432 | 400 | 400

How I Read It: Hardcovers from Publisher

*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. All of my reviews contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced I any way.*

Interested in reading this book for yourself??


Click HERE to jump on over to Goodreads.

Stay tuned for more book reviews almost daily! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!


Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s