Fire Dancer by Catherine Jones Payne

img_6870

Fire Dancer by Catherine Jones Payne is a YA Fantasy out now!


img_6848

50176057._SX318_SY475_So You Think You Can Dance meets Storm Siren

Fire is a dangerous magic.

Sixteen-year-old Kyla is preparing for the test of her life: a high-stakes dance competition to win the role of principal dancer in the fire festival’s elite troupe. When she’s not sneaking off into the woods to practice forbidden magic, that is. Among her people, only the men are entrusted with the mysteries of magecraft. But Kyla’s been learning in secret for ten years, and she’s never backed down from a challenge.

As danger ignites, Kyla must maintain a tight control on her magic. For more than her ambition is in peril. She must stay a step ahead of her enemies—a backstabbing dancer, a repressive council, and a crazed arsonist. If she can’t withstand the inferno, the people she loves most will die.

Fire Dancer is the heart-pounding first novel in a trilogy of YA elemental fantasy books. If you like fierce girl power, slow-burn romance, and harrowing danger, you’ll love Catherine Jones Payne’s fire world.

Plunge into a page-turning adventure perfect for fans of A.L. Knorr, Mary Weber, and Cassandra Clare.


img_6852

If you love YA fantasies AND theatrical plots, you will find this one at the top of your TBR!

We follow the main character who is a dancer, trying to win a spot in her world’s fire festival. But when her secret, magical obsession gets in the way, her life becomes intense, heated, and dangerous.

This is a story that will take ahold of you and threaten not to let you go until the last page. I loved the complexity of the world while also reading through an array of characters who dive deep into magic and arson.

It’s a high-stakes ploy that quickly received a solid 3 stars from me!


img_6850

Published: 1 October 2019

Publisher: Fathom Ink Press

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 278

How I Read It: eARC from YA Book Bound

*Disclaimer: I requested a free copy of this book from YA Book Bound in exchange for an honest review. All of my reviews contain my honest opinions only and are not influenced in any way.*


Interested in reading this book for yourself??

50176057._SX318_SY475_

Click HERE to jump on over to Goodreads.


Stay tuned for more book reviews almost daily! You can subscribe below for instant links to each of my posts and help share the love of YA!

img_7368

Follow me on Bookstagram @treestandbookreviews and on Twitter @KatsTBReviews for even more exclusive bookish content!

Until next time..

Happy Reading,

img_6873

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s