The Bone Maker by Sarah Beth Durst

Book Review

The Bone Maker by Sarah Beth Durst is an adult, dark and twisted, magical story perfect for fans of Tim Burton movies!

Trigger Warnings: Death, Grief, PTSD


Synopsis

Twenty-five years ago, five heroes risked their lives to defeat the bone maker Eklor—a corrupt magician who created an inhuman army using animal bones. But victory came at a tragic price. Only four of the heroes survived. 

Since then, Kreya, the group’s leader, has exiled herself to a remote tower and devoted herself to one purpose: resurrecting her dead husband. But such a task requires both a cache of human bones and a sacrifice—for each day he lives, she will live one less.

She’d rather live one year with her husband than a hundred without him, but using human bones for magic is illegal in Vos. The dead are burned—as are any bone workers who violate the law. Yet Kreya knows where she can find the bones she needs: the battlefield where her husband and countless others lost their lives.

But defying the laws of the land exposes a terrible possibility. Maybe the dead don’t rest in peace after all.  

Five warriors—one broken, one gone soft, one pursuing a simple life, one stuck in the past, and one who should be dead. Their story should have been finished. But evil doesn’t stop just because someone once said, “the end.”


My Thoughts

If you love Tim Burton movies, this book gives 100% of those twisty vibes! 

I can’t tell you when the last time I’ve read such a uniquely, tragic-yet-beautiful story that will just take you on a up-and-down ride. The fact the main character can bring back inanimate objects to life AND a morbid, recently-deceased husband back from below was just the dark fantasy I’ve been looking for

What I Liked:

  • Unique magic 
  • Adult twist on a YA feel
  • Dark and Twisty
  • Fast-paced

What I Didn’t Like:

  • Little Repetitive
  • Character’s Inner, Dreary Dialogue

I gave this standalone a solid 3 out of 5 stars. The concept was 5/5, but I just wasn’t feeling the pacing and overall repetitive nature of the characters’ inner dialogue. But, if you are wanting a story that will take you on a darker, more adult journey most YA novels won’t go, this is definitely the story for you! 

I’m excited to see what else this author will be putting out in the future. If it’s anything like this, I’m in!!

Rating: 3 out of 5.

More Book Info

Published: 9 March 2021

Publisher: Harper Voyager

Genre: Adult Fantasy

Pages: 496

How I Read It: NetGalley eARC

*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*


Interested in reading this book for yourself?

| Add to Goodreads | Buy on Amazon |


Stay tuned for more book reviews every week! Subscribe below for links to all my posts and help spread the love of reading!


Until next time..

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “The Bone Maker by Sarah Beth Durst

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s